Skip to content

Youth Violence

August 6, 2011

Author’s Note:

As Americans, were are only too aware of the bullying that occurs in our schools, our neighborhoods and even in our homes. Fathers bully their children. Mothers bully their children. Parents bully one another. We watch our children bully one another as they develop under violent role models — and grow into our future convicts of every sort and variety. And violence in the media certainly does not help to form positive impressions on youngsters as they watch thousands of violent acts on television each and every week of their lives.

Here is some information that I’m kicking off my blog section on Youth Violence. My heart feels sick as I read these articles and realize that I could have done so much more to prevent having children with a father who was violent since I met him at age 15 — I should have never married a violent man. But this is something my mother never taught me. Hopefully, it is not too late to learn from my experiences as I teach my grandchildren and my children that violent teens typically grow up to be violent husbands and violent fathers. Not always. But mostly.

I pass along this information to all the parents out there who are looking for information, support and answers to their questions and problems.

I look forward to hearing some of my readers’ stories. Please leave your comments below!

General Information

Featured Resources 

  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
    National Center for Injury Prevention and Control (NCIPC)
    4770 Buford Hwy, NE
    MS F-63
    Atlanta, GA 30341-3717
  • 800-CDC-INFO
    (800-232-4636)
    TTY: (888) 232-6348
    24 Hours/Every Day
  • cdcinfo@cdc.gov

Add this to your website!

File Formats Help:

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention   1600 Clifton Rd. Atlanta, GA 30333, USA
800-CDC-INFO (800-232-4636) TTY: (888) 232-6348, 24 Hours/Every Day – cdcinfo@cdc.gov
Leave a Comment

Don't be shy! Leave a Reply!

